Let’s have a wine date

Hi friends,

Hope everyone had a great weekend. Mine was filled with relaxing, coffee, and not too much work, so I can’t complain.

I always love when blogs have a “glass of wne” and chat about what’s happening in their life. I think it draws the curtain back a bit and helps show how different real life is compared to blog life- as there’s always a lot that happens day-to-day that isn’t shared on an online forum.

So, let’s have a glass of wine, and share what’s happening in our lives.

IMG_4395

If I was to go first, I would mention how frustrating getting my visa extended has been this year. I moved to the UK over two years ago, on a secondment from my office in Canada (I work at an international accounting firm). The agreement was I would be gone for 18 months, and then return to my firm for another 18 months with them. In exchange, they cover my moving costs both when I moved to the UK, and returning to Canada. However, 18 months into my secondment, I realised I wasn’t quite done in the UK and so I extended for another year. That year is now up, and I wanted to extend again. However, the Canadian firm has come back and told me they do not support this extension and want me to instead return back home. This has been going back and forth for almost two months now, and has changed tone several times- first with me looking into moving into a different department, then returning in June, followed by the offer to return in September. I’ve continued to say I want another year, and it’s now looking like in order to do so, I will have to quit my firm back home. Which is a scary concept, as that means I no longer have a job held for me when I return to Canada.

I’d also talk about how much of a struggle making this decision has been. On the one hand, I so badly want to be close to my family and my friends, and to feel like I can really settle in and be somewhere for a long time.

DSC05134

Me and my mom- one of the people I miss the most 🙂

On the other hand, returning to Canada means a lot less international trips. You can’t go on a weekend get-away to Italy when you live in Canada! You can barely go on a weekend get-away to a different province, especially with the flight costs when flying within Canada. As everyone who reads this blog knows, I love traveling, and it would be a very dramatic change to move back to Canada and have that be a smaller part of my life.

On a lighter note, I would probably also tell you about how Assen and I went to a TRX class last weekend- and neither of us could move for about 4 days afterwards. I’ve never worked so hard in a class, and I have never been so sore afterwards. I was proud of myself for being able to make it through the hour workout, but I don’t see myself returning anytime soon- as the day afterwards I sneezed, and it hurt my abs so much that I wanted to cry!

DSC02720

This is why I work out at home!

Finally, I’d also mention how my 30th birthday is only a few short months away, and everytime I think about it, I start thinking back over my 20’s and how much I’ve changed, and my life has changed in the past 10 years. I’ve also noticed how many jokes tv shows make about how women are over-the-hill or no longer attractive once their 20’s are over! While part of me feels a little sad that I will never be a young, hip, everything is brand new and exciting 18 year old again, I’ve really started to feel settled into who I am in the past couple of years, and that to me feels more comfortable and a better place to be in my live. When I was 18 (or even 20), I so badly wanted to be accepted by everyone, and I was so afraid of missing out on something- the best party, the best friends, etc. Now that I’m just about 30, I feel perfectly happy to stay in, by-myself, with a glass of wine and a movie. I have friends that I love and know every deep dark secret of mine, and a great boyfriend who does things like make a pillow fort for me on Christmas morning when I’m feeling sad since I’m not with family.

IMG_9088

So now it’s your turn! If we were having wine (or a beverage of your choice), what would you talk about?

Leave a Reply

