Update for the past week and a half

Hi everyone,

Sorry for the break between blog posts. It’s not because I wasn’t thinking of you, it was just because work got crazy busy and I’ve had very little time that hasn’t been centered around work. Anyone sick of hearing me say that? I know I’m sick of actually saying it! Sadly, work continues like that for me for the next couple of weeks, but I am hopeful that it’ll slow down by the end of June. I’ve been struggling with my motivation for work lately, so I’m hoping that a slow time in July and August will help recharge me a bit.

So- what have I been up to since my last post? Well, early Wednesday morning (aka: 4:45 am) I had a taxi take me to the airport, to fly to Switzerland. I was in a very small town, called Zofingen, which has a population of about 11,000 people. It was very small, but similar to the rest of Switzerland, was very pretty. I managed to explore a bit one of the night’s I was there, and it felt like I had stepped back in time to a slower, more idyllic time.

IMG_7920

IMG_7922

IMG_7928 IMG_7925

Unfortunately, while there I didn’t have much time to explore so all of my exploring was done in about an hour one night. I always get excited when I find out I’m going somewhere fun on a work trip, however everytime it ends up being very little fun. I could’ve been pretty much anywhere during this trip, as I would start work at 7:30 am, and finish at 6:30, before heading back to my hotel to work for a few more hours until having a late dinner. At the airport on my way back, I bought some good Swiss chocolate, as that was my only time for some shopping.

I arrived back late on Saturday, and on Sunday, Assen and I spent 3 hours driving to our training course. Once a year, the company I work for puts on a very large training course, which covers both technical knowledge and soft-skills. They rent out an entire hotel, and it is for staff all throughout the UK. It’s a pretty impressive event, but they do pack as much training as they can in during those three days. The first day, our training course went until 7:15 pm, dinner started at 7:30, and by 10:30 pm, I was back in my room, and working until 12:30.

The second night, they have a large black-tie event, which Assen and I had some fun dressing up for. I tried to grab a couple of selfie’s in the mirror while getting ready, as well as a good shot of my shoes, but didn’t quite succeed.

IMG_7943

IMG_7947

I greatly enjoyed one of our training session’s where the motivational speaker Jim Lawless came and spoke to us. He spoke about the 10 tips he has in order to “tame the tiger” and do things you never thought he could do. His concept of “tame the tiger” is all about the fact that we hold ourselves back with limiting thoughts and our own fears, which if he could tame and overcome, we would be able to accomplish so much more. I thought he had some really good points, and I have added his motivational book onto my book list of things to read.

Assen and I stopped at Oxford for a quick trip after the third day, as our training course was only about an hour away from the city. We had a lovely dinner and managed to wander about just a bit, before driving the remaining 2 hours to get home for a late night.

IMG_2277

The rest of the week raced by the blur, and then it was the weekend. Friday had been a beautiful day, so Assen and I took the opportunity to go for a walk, and enjoy a meal outside, before the rain started for the rest of the weekend.

IMG_7955

Saturday was spent largely at home, relaxing and doing very little. The one thing we did do, which I am very excited about, is book our flights to Bulgaria and Turkey for the beginning of August! I’ve been to Bulgaria already (see my recap here and here), but will be seeing a bit different areas this time, as well as spending more than half my time in Turkey, exploring Istanbul which sounds beautiful. If anyone’s been, I would love some tips!

And that brings us up to where we are at everyone! What’s everyone else been up to over the past week and a half?

One thought on “Update for the past week and a half

Leave a Reply

