Birthday reminiscing

Hi friends,

Happy Wednesday! I’m currently away in Portugal, and later on will be in Belgium, but I pre-wrote a few posts to keep you company while I’m away over the next two weeks. If you’re curious of my travels, feel free to follow me on instagram @sarahdominique5 for up to date pictures from my trip!

So by the time you’re reading this, I will have had my 29th birthday, as my birthday is May 5th. While I still have one more year in my 20’s before the big 3-0, I can’t help but start looking back at my 20’s and how much has changed in the past 10 years.

First of all, 10 years ago, at the age of 19, I had just finished my first year of University. I had lived on a party floor in residence and my favourite thing to do was to go out drinking with my friends and dance the night away.

100_0032

Yep- classy all the way. Shot-gunning a beer.

At the age of 19, I left North America for the first time, traveling to Costa Rica with my then boyfriend. Fun fact- our way to Costa Rica, we missed our connecting flight in San Francisco. We decided to go grab some lunch, and didn’t have any watches with us so we didn’t realise the time. By the time we got back to the boarding gate for our flight, our plane had already started moving away from the gate. We ended up having to spend the night in Dallas (where we were supposed to catch the next part of our flight to Costa Rica) and missed out on a day on our trip.

DSCF0650

5 years ago, at the age of 24, I had just graduated University with my degree in business, and returned from back-packing through South East Asia for 2 months.

Thailand 283

I spent most of early 20’s studying hard in University, working as a waitress at a restaurant, and generally not having much excitement in my life. Beyond of course, the time I went sky-diving, which I did at the age of 21, and honestly, I don’t think I could ever do again. But I’m glad to say that I have done it!

SkyDiving 089

2 years ago, I had just finished getting my Chartered Accountancy designation (after 3 hard years of working and school), and I was working to move to Europe. The day before I flew to China for a family trip, I threw a 1920’s themed murder mystery party with my friends

murder mystery 057

One year ago, I was just starting to feel like I had my feet back under me. After a whirlwind trip to Costa Rica to become a certified yoga instructor in July, getting engaged at the end of July, moving to the UK in August, going through a break-up in January, and then working 15 hours day for 3 months, I was finally able to take a break, get away for a trip and spend some time with my friend.

IMG_4001

Now, here we are, one year later, and my live has been a great adventure. I’ve managed to complete all the traveling that I can, having traveled through 8 countries in one year, also while getting a promotion at my job and starting a new relationship.

I can’t wait to see how much life will continue to change over the next 1, 2, 5 and 10 years. Thanks for everyone who reads who continues to be part of this journey with me!

Here’s to being 29 🙂

One thought on “Birthday reminiscing

Leave a Reply

