Life update and upcoming personal challenge

Hi friends,

Sorry I’ve been MIA lately. I feel like I’ve been saying this for a long time, but work has just been really busy lately, which hasn’t left much time for anything else.

To be honest with you all, I am super tired of how busy it’s been. 4 months in of working between 60-100 hours a week and I can’t tell you how badly I need a vacation. I have always been that person who doesn’t mind working extra hours. I would rather have a job that challenges me, then a job where I know that I will be leaving every day at 5 pm.

However, at a point, it becomes too much. This week, for example, I didn’t go grocery shopping on Sunday because I was working until 5 pm, and grocery stores in the UK are closed by that time. I figured I would go in the evening during the week, since they are open till 11 Monday-Friday.

Instead, I’ve been at work so late every night that I’ve eaten out every single meal this week. This morning, for breakfast, I had crackers and peanut butter because it’s all I have in the house. I mixed my coffee with hot chocolate because I’m out of sugar and milk.

It’s impacting all areas of my life- I’m tired from not sleeping enough, grumpy, not exercising, and not eating as well as I would like to.

Bed and breakfast 034

Mmm. cake….

So this morning, driving back from a client meeting, I was thinking about how much of a funk I am in right now. And I’ve decided I’m doing something about it.

So here’s my plan- for the next 2 weeks, I am going to spend some time taking care of myself. Yes, work is still busy, so this may not be the most perfect plan I’ve ever executed, but my goal is three fold:

  • Do at least 30 minutes of yoga every day for the next 2 weeks
  • Clean up my diet to eat more clean, and focus on bringing more healthy choices back into my life
  • Go to sleep earlier!

1454664_10100289621798595_562740556_n

I will share more with you for my entire plan in the next few days, and how it goes throughout the next couple of weeks. I’m off on a holiday on 3rd May, so if I can make the next two weeks more positive, rather than just counting down the days till I have some time off, then I count that as a win.

I don’t mean to be all negative on a blog post, but the reality is that it’s where I’m at right now, and my goal with my blog is to share both the fun parts of my life (with travels) as well as the crappy times (the oh so much work).

How’s everyone else doing? Does anyone have tips for some clean eating recipes? I’d love new ideas!

Leave a Reply

