Busy work and relaxing weekend

Hi friends!

Sorry I’ve been MIA for so long. Since I last posted, work has absolutely exploded for me. While many of my friends will be tired of hearing me whine and complain about the hours I’ve been working, I figure I can whine and complain just a little more. A quick snapshot of the last week and a half:

Sunday, 15 March- spent the day traveling back from Zagreb, Croatia. By the time I got home, it was 6 pm, and I had time to go out for a nice dinner with Assen, after being away all week.
Monday, 16 March- worked from 8:30 am- 12:30 am.
Tuesday, 17 March- worked from 7:30 am- midnight
Wednesday, 18 March- worked from 9 am- 11:30 pm
Thursday, 19 March- had to drive 3 hours to my client, left my house at 7 am. Worked until 7:30 pm. Had a meal out with my team that night which was great fun, though meant I did not get to bed until 1 am.

IMG_7506

Champagne cocktail that I had that night. Delicious but deadly!

 
Friday, 20 March- worked from 8:00 am- 4:00pm, drove home for 3 hours, worked an additional 2 hours once I got home
Saturday, 21 March- slept in, as I was exhausted. Started working at 11:30 am- 1:00 am
Sunday, 22 March- slept in again. Worked from 11:30 am- midnight, with a glorious 3 hour break in the middle to chat with my mom and sister.
Monday, 23 March- worked 8 am- 1 am
Tuesday, 24 March- worked 8:30 am- 1 am

Thankfully, my client deadline was early Wednesday morning, which meant I took Wednesday off and just laid in bed. I had all these glorious plans of working out, cleaning my house, making food- but instead I slept until 11, and then sat on the couch and watched tv for the entire day. But I think that’s exactly what I needed after working 127 hours in 9 days.

I know I owe you guys a recap on my time in Zagreb (and I promise that’ll be the next post), but figured I would share my weekend with you first, as after my few days of absolute insane working, I had a few really nice days over the weekend.

Friday was the celebration of the end of busy season. The nice thing about working at the firm that I do is that everyone is quite young, and therefore we hang out together, and have fantastic social events. This event was a cocktail making event, where they had 4 different kinds of drinks you could learn how to make, and they let us lose with bottles of alcohol. The drinks were actually quite tasty, and it was nice just to hang out with people I hadn’t seen in awhile and have a few drinks.

IMG_7525

Although we did head out to a club afterwards, neither Assen or I stayed long, as we had plans for the next day.

Saturday we were up at a good time, and took the train into London. London has a fantastic market by the London Tower (called Borough market). It’s London’s most renowned market, and has a great mix of cheeses, meats, fruits and vegetables, as well as food from all over the world. We had lunch there and then wandered around. I got some great finds, including some spices, flavoured balsamic vinegar, and blood oranges, and enjoyed many more nibbles with the free tastings.

IMG_7540

 

There was also a great wall where they had lines saying “Before I die, I want to” and people had written in chalk many different answers (as per below). It was fantastic to just hang out and read what people had said. I loved how many were about marrying their loves, or learning more about themselves. Some were funny (such as “Mind the gap”, which is what is said at every tube stop in London). Assen and I had a great chat about things we wanted to do before we died.

IMG_7547

We then waited in a line for 30 minutes so we could go up the Shard (the tallest building in London) for a cocktail. The drinks were pricey (about 15 pounds per cocktail) but were delicious, and the view made it more than worthwhile. We had to stand for a bit when we first got there, but then happened to see a table packing up- right by the window! It was such a great spot, and we both enjoyed just being able to sit and chat, and have nothing to do for a little while.

IMG_7555

(bonus was Tower of London and the London Bridge in the background)

We ended our day in London at our favourite Italian restaurant in town. The restaurant reminds me of being in Italy, down to the servers often not knowing words in English. The food is authentic and so delicious! Unfortunately, I didn’t snap any pictures of our food, or the restaurant, as I was too busy eating everything I could, as quickly as possible.

We were back in Cambridge by about 10:30, and sat on the couch watching a movie in the evening. It was a great day of activity, and relaxing.

Today is back to the grind of cleaning house, grocery shopping, and all that “adult stuff” that always seems to pile up.

What did everyone else do this weekend? Anyone have anything fun to add to “Things you’d like to do before you die…”?

Be back later this week with a very delayed recap of my Croatia trip!

 

Leave a Reply

