Banana peanut butter chocolate muffins

That is a mouthful of a muffin name- I know.

Baking 016

A couple of weeks ago, while Mark and I were still running around with our crazy schedules, I decided I would bake us morning muffins. I’ve been getting back into smoothies for breakfast in the morning, but they weren’t enough on their own. I thought that muffins would be great- as they’re quick to grab and take on the go.

My requirements when making them were that they had to be delicious (obviously), and had to be healthy. I didn’t want either Mark or I consuming a pound of sugar before 8 am. I looked through a muffin recipe book I received as a Christmas gift a few years ago

Baking 007

And I found a recipe for these banana, peanut butter and chocolate muffins. They were perfect! Bananas- good for you, Peanut butter- good for you, Chocolate- well, not good for you, but delicious! I made a few changes to the recipe, such as taking out most of the sugar, removing all of the oil and instead of using chocolate chips, I used up some Halloween chocolate bars that we still have sitting around the house

Baking 010

What I ended up with was a delicious muffin that allowed for a quick easy to grab breakfast. Be warned though- these muffins are quite dense, due to the peanut butter and banana, and lack of oil. I recommend microwaving them for 5-10 seconds before eating, and topping them with a smear of peanut butter.

Baking 013

Banana Peanut Butter Chocolate Muffins

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 3/4 cup mashed overripe bananas (about 2 small)
  • 2/3 cup all natural peanut butter
  • 2/3 cup vanilla (or plain) almond milk (or real milk)
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (or cut up chocolate bars)

Measure first 5 ingredients into a large bowl. Stir together. Add the next five ingredients and whisk until smooth.

Add chocolate chips and stir until just moistened.

Fill 12 greased muffin cups 3/4 full. Bake in 375 F oven for 18-20 minutes, until wooden pick insert in centre of muffin comes out clean. Let stand in pan for 5 minutes before removing.

Enjoy guys! I hope you like them as much as Mark and I did.

2 thoughts on “Banana peanut butter chocolate muffins

  1. Jill says:

    Yum, these look great!

    I have been reding your blog for a little while now and thought maybe I should say hello instead of lurking, haha. I really enjoy your blog posts, and some of them helped me quite a bit, in terms of exercise and food, and giving myself a break if I need to. I really liked your “How to maintain healthy habits while busy” series, especially Part 3. Definitely struck a cord with me. Anyways, thanks for blogging! 🙂

    • Yogi Sarah says:

      Thanks for saying hi Jill 🙂 I love hearing that my blog posts have helped you! Way to go to you for giving yourself a break- I honestly think it’s so important when living a healthy lifestlye, as none of us are perfect. Thanks so much for your kind comment!!

Leave a Reply

