Slow cooker chicken

Happy Thursday everyone!

Can you believe tomorrow is already Friday? These weeks are just flying by. I’m pretty excited for this weekend though- as it’s Mark’s birthday on Saturday! I’ve had his present sitting in my office for over a week now- and I’m just about ready to burst because I’m so excited for him to open it.

Christmas presents 003

This is actually a picture from Christmas- I don’t want him to guess what his present is, so I’m keeping it hidden

In other exciting news- I was interviewed by Maddison over at MissImperfect.com. She has a great site that I highly recommend checking out- it’s all about how to live life without worrying about making it perfect! I’m truly honoured to be featured on her site, and very excited. If you want to learn a bit more about me, you should check out her blog today (and everyday because it’s fantastic). For today’s interview, here’s the link: Women Who Love Life

Switching gears again (I’m all over the place today), as you all may remember, last Tuesday (April 9) was Mark’s and my “official” three year anniversary. As we had already gone to Banff for the weekend to celebrate, we didn’t really have any big plans on celebrating, but we did want to do something small to celebrate the actual day. As I’m not currently getting home until around 7, and on Tuesday’s Mark doesn’t get home until 7:45, we knew we wouldn’t have a lot of time.

Eventually, we decided to have a nice meal at home, with some wine and exchange cards. I think there’s something very delicious and decadent about having a roasted chicken. Since neither of us wanted to be eating dinner at 10 pm, we decided to try it out in the slow cooker. What resulted was absolutely delicious, and I had to share with you guys!

First up, I layered the bottom of the slow cooker with some coconut oil, a cut up onion, and some garlic

Make It 100

I then chopped up more garlic, another onion, and some frozen basil we had in the fridge. Along with some dried parsley, rosemary and thyme, and soy sauceI had all my seasonings ready:

Make It 104

The onion and a couple of cloves of garlic went into the chicken, along with some of the basil, and a couple of tablespoons of soy sauce. A trick which I recently discovered, is to put the chicken in with the breasts on the bottom. The dark meat, which is on the bottom of the chicken, is naturally more juicy. If you put the chicken in this way, the fluids will drain down into the breasts, making them extra juicy when eaten.

I then topped the chicken with more garlic, basil, thyme, parsley and a bit more soy sauce and coconut oil.

Make It 105

We put it in the fridge overnight (as we prepped everything the night before). Mark took it out just after noon, before he left for work, and left it on low.

When I got home from work, I checked if it was done (which can be done with a meat thermometer, or by piercing it with a fork and checking if the liquid that comes out is clear). I cooked up some brown rice and carrots to go along with it.

By the time Mark got home from work, we were ready to eat our delicious meal, with minimal prep time.

It was so delicious! The chicken was very tender and had a really nice, light taste to it.

Slow Cooker Chicken

  • 1 whole chicken (we had a 4 pound, organic chicken)
  • 2 onions
  • 2-4 cloves of garlic
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup fresh basil leaves (or you could use rosemary)
  • 1 tablespoon each of: parsley, rosemary, thyme
  • 2 tablespoon coconut oil

1) Thaw out the chicken. Give it a rinse and then pat it dry.

2) Cut up the onions into large chunks. Mince the garlic and basil leaves.

3) Take 1 of the cut up onions, and 1 tablespoon coconut oil, and 1/3 garlic. Put all on the bottom of the slow cooker.

4) Stuff the chicken with the other onion, and the other 1/3 garlic. Put in the soy sauce and 3/4  of the basil leaves.

5) Place the chicken breasts down, and top with remaining coconut oil, garlic, basil leaves, and the parsley, rosemary and thyme. Top with a bit more soy sauce (approximately 1 tbsp).

6) Cook in slow cooker for 6 hours, or until meat thermometer reads 85 C (or 185 F).

Cut up, eat and enjoy.

Make It 109

I hope you guys enjoy it as much as we did!

3 thoughts on “Slow cooker chicken

  1. flexcouple says:

    Sounds fantastic, I will have to give this a try. I roast chicken in the oven all the time, but I have never tried the slow cooker. Congrats on your interview as well.

    Shell

    • Yogi Sarah says:

      I really enjoyed it in the slow cooker- it just made it feel so easy 🙂 Let me know how it goes when you do try it in the slow cooker!

      Thanks for the congrats!!

Leave a Reply

