Spring time pasta

Cabinets 330Hey friends,

I realized the other day that it has been a very long time since I posted a recipe. It’s not because I haven’t been cooking- it’s because I usually cook using other people’s recipes. It’s rare for me to just go into the kitchen and start throwing stuff together.

But then, on Sunday, I was watching a movie and a girl drops a plate of food. The food on the plate was this delicious, light looking pasta dish. With the sun shining through the window on me, inspiring images of spring time, I knew that I had to make something similar immediately.

So first, I cut up the veggies:

Cabinets 324Brussel sprouts, asparagus, peppers, mushrooms, tomatoes and garlic

Then, I scavenged through my fridge for any herbs I might have in it.

Cabinets 327Parsley and basil

I then threw everything in a pan and added a few seasonings along the way to make a delicious meal. Now, Mark made chicken for us to have on the side. However, for any vegetarians out there, it would be super easy to have just thrown in either a handful of nuts (I think pistachios would be AMAZING in it), or some edamame beans for your protein.

Spring time inspired pasta- serves 4-5

  • Handful of asparagus, sliced into bite size pieces
  • Handful of brussel sprouts, sliced in half
  • 1 red or yellow sweet pepper
  • Handful of mushrooms, cut into quarters (or halves if your mushrooms are smaller)
  • Handful of cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 cup parsley
  • 1/4 cup packed basil
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/2 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 package of pasta
  • Feta cheese

1) Start a pot of salted, water on medium high and bring to a boil. Add the pasta and cook per directions. Drain and rinse the pasta when it’s finished, and set aside.

2) Slice up all of the vegetables. In a pan, set on medium heat, heat up the coconut oil, and add the garlic. Let simmer for 30 seconds and then add the brussel sprouts. Leave for a couple of minutes and then add the rest of the vegetables, except for the tomatoes and herbs.

3) Leave to cook for 5 minutes, or until the vegetables start to be soft and are almost finished. Stir regularly. Add the cherry tomatoes, basil and parsley, as well as the lemon juice and balsamic vinegar. Let the flavours cook together for a couple more minutes, stirring along the way.

4) Add the pasta to the vegetables and add the olive oil, as well as other seasonings (salt, pepper and red pepper flakes were added to my dish).

5) Dish onto a plate and sprinkle with feta cheese.

Cabinets 331

Note- in case you’re wondering why I used coconut oil and olive oil, it’s because I cook with coconut oil, but I like olive oil for the flavour on dishes like this. I’ve read you shouldn’t heat up olive oil, as the heat actually denatures the oil, and becomes harmful to your health. So instead, I cook with coconut oil.

I had the leftovers cold the next day, and it was possible even better. Hope you guys enjoy!

Leave a Reply

