Backstage chicken

Here’s to the start of a new week. How was the rest of everyone’s weekend?

Mine was great! I had my work Christmas party, which was filled with delicious food, drink and a bit of dancing (though my legs were so sore I kept it to a minimum).

Christmas party 001

I also finished my Christmas shopping, and finally got up the courage to share my blog with everyone on Facebook! It’s amazing how it’s easier to share your life with absolute strangers than with people you know. I guess it’s probably because it means more if they tell you they don’t like something.

Anyways, I thought I’d start the week with a recipe I grew up with. My mom has made this recipe for as long as I can remember. In fact, when my sister and I were little girls in elementary school, my school put together a recipe book and this was the recipe my mom included.  It might not be the most nutritious recipe you’ll ever make- but it really is delicious!

Backstage Chicken

  • 4 whole chicken breasts
  • 1/2 lb grated cheese
  • 2 Tbsp melted butter
  • 2 cans mushroom soup
  • 2 to 3 lb fresh broccoli spears
  • 1/2 cup fine dry bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup white wine

Bake the chicken in the oven at 350 degrees until cooked through. Cut breasts into 4 pieces. Cook broccoli while chicken is cooking; place in baking pan. Top with chicken. Sprinkle with cheese. Top with bread crumbs and melted butter. Bake at 350 F for 30 minutes. Add the wine and mushroom soup on top and bake for another 10 minutes.

Celebrations 005

I like to serve it with rice and a side salad. Delicious 🙂

In other news, a friend of mine recently started a blog. She’s an amazingly talented baker, that makes things like:

baking

If you enjoy baking, you should check out her blog. It’s The Sweetest Crumb. Absolutely fantastic.

Coming up, I promise a final update  on Mark’s and my November challenge, as well as how to keep your waste to a minimum over the Christmas season.

I’ve also finally jumped on board with Twitter- so if you’re on it, click on the link on my blog to catch my updates.

Leave a Reply

