Waffles

Happy Sunday everyone!

I hope everyone’s having a great weekend! Mine’s been filled with delicious meals, great conversation, bike rides and a few walks to enjoy the fall colours and the last bit of warmth before winter starts.

This morning I woke up and decided that I just had to have waffles! Growing up, my mom would always make waffles for my birthday- I’m sure other times as well- but I always remember wanting them on my birthday. In fact, my mom still makes them for me! Her and I live a 10 hour drive apart from each other, so I usually no longer get them on my birthday but rather the next time I go visit.

I recently decided that as an adult, I should probably buy myself a waffle maker and make my own waffles. So that is exactly what I did! The recipe for the waffles came with my mom’s waffle iron- when she bought it in the mid 80’s! It’s an oldy but tried and tested to be delicious!

First up, I needed the ingredients:

Mark and I use almond milk as Mark is lactose-intolerant. The other ingredients were salt, baking powder, 2 eggs, oil (any oil will work, I used grapeseed oil), strawberries, raspberries, vanilla and dream whip (to make into whip cream).

First up, I separated the egg white from the egg yolk

Then I whipped the egg white until stiff peaks formed:

I mixed all the other ingredients in a separate bowl:

Then beat it until it was smooth, and folded in the whipped egg whites. I was then ready to get started! For each waffle, I used 1/2 cup in the waffle maker. This may vary depending on the size of your waffle maker, I’m not sure.

I set the table with the dream whip (made per the instructions on the box) and sliced strawberries:

And then it was time to enjoy:

A delicious Sunday indeed 🙂 The recipe and instructions are below

Waffles

  • 2 egg yolks
  • 2 cups (500 mL) milk
  • 2 cups (500 mL) all-purpose flour (See Note 1 below)
  • 1 tablespoon (15mL) baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon (2 mL) salt
  • 1/3 cup (75 mL) oil
  • 2 egg whites, stiffly beaten

Preheat waffle maker. Put all ingredients except egg whites in a large mixer bowl. Beat on low until moistened. Increase to medium, mix until smooth. By hand, gently fold in beaten egg whites. Pour 1/2 cup (125 mL) batter over grids. Close waffle maker, bake until golden, 2 1/2 to 3 minutes. Repeat. Serve hot with favourite topping. Yields: 8 waffles

Note 1: My mom will often sub out 1 cup all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour. Using 2 cups of all-purpose flour results in very light waffles, the more whole wheat flour you use, the denser the waffle will become. I wouldn’t recommend using more than 1 cup of whole wheat flour.

Does anyone else think of this quote from Shrek when talking about waffles?

One thought on “Waffles

Leave a Reply

